Social Issue

From the discussions in the class, I think that the social issue of prostitution is sort of interesting. It’s surprising to know how much Thai women are doing these type of things and the risk they’re taking while doing this type of work. Before listening to the group presenting about this social issue, I thought that everyone who is a prostitute is doing their job because they think that it’s a easy way to earn money. However, I learned that some people do not have the education or opportunity to work a proper job therefore prostitution is there last choice. In the book, it shows that Sida decided to go through this path because her family is low in money and prostitution could give her easy cash. I think that each person has a different reason why they choose to be a prostitute; some might be in need of money while some could be forced into it.

I believe that the society could play a part in helping with this social issue. Since most prostitutes are young, they have a long time left until they die. If they get the basic education to find a proper job, they won’t be walking down this part. I think that we shouldn’t be judging these type of people because we don’t know the real reason why they’re doing it. Another thing that the society could do is to help those who are forced to work as a prostitute. There are many places in Thailand in which they would take young girls and force them into this job. By helping these young people, we are giving them another chance to start their life again away from these issues.

 

3 thoughts on “Social Issue

  1. I’ve said in my blog that I don’t have a favourite when it comes to our discussions, but the topic of prostitution really brings out one of the greatest discussion we’ve ever had. It’s indeed very complex and almost impossible to solve if we truly look into it.

    Like

  2. I agree with you. After the discussion we had, my abhor that I have towards these prostitutes turned out to be a small sense of sympathy since some have no choice since they are forced to be a prostitute. Great job

    Like

Leave a comment